25 October 2012

October 25, 2012

I would like to think of myself as a bloggerpoet from now on, from this moment forward. Bloggerpoet. It doesn’t have any sort of ring to it at all. To paraphrase Ben Lerner, Poetry is the exact opposite of the language of mass media. But more simply: I don’t actually want to be a poet, and that’s exactly why I want to be one.

An example: I used to be in a band. A rock band sort of. But anytime someone asked if I was a musician I would say no. No, I wasn’t a musician. Of course I wasn’t a musician. If I was a musician then I would have to, I don’t know, start following the rules or something, learn the chords. It was the very fact that I wasn’t a musician that made music interesting to me. As soon as I started becoming a musician, I had to quit.

T.S. Eliot thought it was important to submit yourself to a tradition, to work inside it, to master it, but see, that scares the hell out of me. I’ve always liked working on the edges of things. Or, rather, that’s always where I’ve ended up.

This is a strange time in my life. I would be lying if I said this wasn’t a strange time in my life.

And this probably doesn’t sound like poetry at all, but that’s where you’re wrong.

