15 September 2011

September 15, 2011

I’ll tell you the truth: I’m exhausted.

Also: a little whiney.

Sometimes, when people walk up to their cars, they look at themselves in their windows. You can tell when someone is looking at themselves and when they’re not. They act different, they straighten up. Sometimes I look at myself in my rearview mirror and pretend I’m a rockstar or something.

I was in a Starbucks in Washington D.C. and I took a picture of myself with the camera on my laptop. I wrote a caption that said, See that wall behind me? That wall is in Washington D.C.

The woman on the plane asked me what I did for a living, and I did a terrible job explaining it. She nodded and said, Interesting. I asked her what she did, and she said she was a nurse at a prison, so mostly we talked about that.

She said she’d had four children by the time she was 18. And I said, Holy Cow.

Isn’t it strange that people start countries?

And here’s the thing about being creative: You have to come to terms with like 90% of it being total crap. So if you make your living being creative, you have to come to terms with feeling like a failure 90% of the time. It’s hard not to only feel as valuable as the last thing you’ve created. You have to be a very secure person, which, of course, I am not.

I used to think I was supposed to make money doing something I loved, that anything else was selling out. Now I think the exact opposite.

