23 August 2011

August 23, 2011

I made a french press when I got to work this morning. I’ve been looking for ways to calm down. We have a pretty great view, I think, up here on the 9th floor. I used Jay’s kettle, and you have to wait four minutes before it boils, then four minutes before straining the grounds. It’s a very relaxing thing to do, strain the grounds. It reminds me of vacuuming or turning the pages of a book.

But what I’m saying is that it took me 8 minutes to make this cup of coffee.

I was talking with a friend yesterday, and he was saying how the Internet makes it too easy for people to jump to conclusions. He said no one wants to take time to understand things anymore.

A few months ago I googled the term, “Christian Humanism,” then I googled, “Christian Atheism,” then I googled “Atheism,” then I ordered a Christopher Hitchens book, all within like 15 minutes. I even read some of that book, too. But it was pretty long.

I drank that coffee black this morning and told myself I would not make any more decisions for the next ten years.

