5 August 2011

August 5, 2011

I was driving home from Dallas yesterday and getting sort of lost and looking at the buildings, the way the stains drip down from the rooftops like the buildings are made of wax and they’re melting. When you find your onramp it’s like coming out of water or getting a hug. Everything starts getting familiar.

I’m trying to be one of those guys who can completely separate work and life. I wasn’t trying to be that guy a year ago, but now I am. It doesn’t really mean anything, it’s just a decision, like everything.

I was talking with Brown last night, and we were saying how hard it is to make things you believe in, that don’t feel like you’re just pretending, even if that’s exactly what you’re doing.

Some people like to know each other’s middle names.

Greg gave me a scooter and I’ve been riding it around the office and what you need to know about is the moment when I cross from the carpet the hardwood. It reminds me of when I was a kid, and I woke up and couldn’t breathe and my dad took me out to our porch swing. It was the middle of the night, and the air was wet, and I was sitting in his lap.

//-//

I taught my phone the word taco today, and I think everyone should listen to Sunset Rubdown even if they hate it.

