6 July 2011

July 6, 2011

It’s lunch time. My feet are up on my desk. I can see the coffee through my glass mug and it’s embarrassingly milky. There’s a caffeine molecule printed on the side. Janessa got it for me for my birthday. There are two tubes of pringles with differing amounts of chips in each, inversely-proportional to my enjoyment of their flavors. An open box of wheat thins. A three pound bag of gummi bears. My ipod, face down. Sugar wafers. My monitor with a “Check Signal Cable” warning bouncing from corner to corner. Speakers I only used once last month.

//-//

There is a picture of Janessa and I before we got married. It’s tacked above my desk, right above the sugar wafers. Her head is on my shoulder and I’m wearing a necklace that broke into pieces a few years ago. We don’t look any different, though. We look exactly the same.

//-//

I use the back of my ipod as a mirror to make sure.

//-//

When that necklace broke, the necklace from the picture, I put the pieces in the cup holder of my honda. I thought maybe I’d fix it. A few days later I left a coke in the cup holder and the bottom fell out. When I tried to clean it, a few months after that, the necklace pieces had become permanently affixed to the plastic. Exactly a year ago, I sold that car for $100. Necklace included.

//-//

It’s not lunch anymore now. Now it’s 5pm. That’s how time moves. Immediately like that.

