6 June 2011

June 6, 2011

I watched a documentary over lunch today called “The God who isn’t there” which actually wasn’t about God at all; it was about Jesus, or the lack of Jesus. Or at least you think it’s about Jesus or the lack of Jesus until it takes an unsurprising turn (the netflix description gives it away) and you learn that the filmmaker used to be a fundamentalist Christian and that the whole documentary is actually just a way for him to slam the private Christian school where he grew up.

In the very last scene of the film, the filmmaker sneaks into the chapel where he gave his life to Christ, turns the camera on himself and whispers: “I denounce the holy spirit.” Then the credits roll.

I think my point here is that I would rather be ignorant than annoying.

