20 May 2011

May 20, 2011

I’m reading this book of essays about atheism. It’s called “The Portable Atheist” and when I set it on my desk, I set it face down. I don’t want people to see what I’m reading. I feel a sort of triple weirdness about it. Weirdness 1: The weirdness of people seeing me reading an atheist book. Weirdness 2: The weirdness of enjoying weirdness 1. Weirdness 3: The weirdness of feeling bad about weirdness 2.

I’m also reading High Fidelity, which is nice because I don’t have to think about which way I set it down on my desk.

I read an interview with Christopher HItchens the other day and he said that good writing is like good conversation: you should feel like someone is speaking right to you. The irony is that Christopher Hitchens has cancer and can barely talk. He’s also an atheist. He edited the atheist book I’m reading right now. It all ties together. Stuff always ties together.

(Stuff doesn’t always tie together)

I’ve been thinking about how people who go through the worst relationships understand things about love that I maybe never will. Maybe we have to choose between being happy and being wise.

The thing about the atheists in this book is that they’re using a lot of energy trying to prove that Christianity is unreasonable. The thing is, though, most Christians already know that Christianity is unreasonable. They’ve come to terms with it. They believe anyways. I guess I’m not sure what to do with that yet.

