4 May 2011

May 4, 2011

Sometimes I’ll leave my headphones in but turn my music off so I can listen to conversations without people knowing. I guess this is eavesdropping, but I find it relaxing. It’s like talking without having to talk or stay when it gets boring.

1. This one guy (I think his name is Tom) was telling this other guy (I think his name is Terry) that Obama’s job is to prepare the way for the antichrist. “I really do,” He said. And Terry was nodding and saying, “Yep, Yep,” like it wasn’t even big news.

2. The girl behind me was trying to sell someone on what was clearly a pyramid scheme. The company sold beauty products. But unlike other companies, she said, this one used the power of science. What level of biology did you reach in high school? she asked. And then she used the word “Messenger-RNA.”

3. It looked like they were on a date, this couple, and she was clearly more into it than he was. They were sitting across from me in this little section of Starbucks where the four armchairs faced each other. She was all up on her armrest trying to get closer to him, and he was sitting perfectly straight like he was watching a movie out the window. His eyes were sunken into his head and his hair was greasy and receding. He looked like the type of guy who watches Saw IV.

He was saying that if she ever wanted to become a manager of Pappa Johns, like he was, that she just had to read the five principles of whatever whatever, even though some of the concepts were, “pretty elementary, really.”

She giggled when he said that, elementary.

When she got up to go to the bathroom, the guy looked straight at me and said, “Hey.” Like he knew I’d been listening the whole time, or maybe thought I’d been listening and wanted to see for sure. I had my headphone in and I pretended to read except I couldn’t remember how to read or when to turn the pages. He stared at me until his girlfriend came back.

