27 April 2011

April 27, 2011

I was talking with a friend the other day about work. He was saying that if they fired him, his company, if they laid him off, he’d just go work at Starbucks or something, no problem. What he does isn’t who he is.

I was thinking about how much work we put into having a good answer when someone at a party asks us what we do. That’s the only reason I can think that anyone would want to be a VP or a Director or something: they want to look good at parties.

I was reading something that a masters of creative writing student wrote. It wasn’t very good. I thought about how school might be total bunk. Like you’d be better off buying a used copy of Strunk & White and 365 cups of coffee and just teaching yourself. You could even do it without the coffee if you had to.

What I’m saying is that the part that really counts, the actual work itself, that’s the part you can do for free.

