26 April 2011

April 26, 2011

I don’t think we have to become terrible people just to make money.

A man got on the elevator with me and stared at me the whole way up. He smelled like smoke and his face sagged like he was 80 years old. He said, “The longer you’re alive, the longer the days get.” He stared at me like I’d done something wrong, and I kept pressing number 9 over and over again.

The day of blankness.

The day of whitespace.

Sometimes my mind and body get bored at the same time and it feels almost like laying in bed after a day at the beach, when the mattress goes all liquid.

Someone yesterday said to me: “You’re quickly becoming one of the most overrated employees at Pursuant,” and I thought it was the funniest, truest thing I’d heard in a while. I wanted to write it on all the whiteboards.

I like to keep the bar low. I really do.

I’ve been thinking about this friend of mine who is friends with homeless people. I’ve been thinking about how I would like to be friends with homeless people, too, but mostly just so I could think about myself as someone who is friends with homeless people and not because I actually want to be friends with anyone who is homeless.

The day of unrequited desire.

