5 April 2011

April 5, 2011

I think what I’m trying to do is get down to the blood of the thing. I’m trying to create something as it is and not as we want it to be. We get this idea that good writing, good art, good whatever, is supposed to be some sort of elevated experience.

Being lost implies there’s somewhere else you should be.

What I’m saying is that a lot of time people don’t know the difference between something that’s good and something that’s bad. Myself included. I need someone to tell me, This book of poetry is really good.

You have to decide where you get your value from. If you get it from other people or yourself or from no where at all. The worst place to get it is probably others.

I was talking with a friend yesterday about acceptance. About how it’s easy to think that if something’s accepted it’s also good. It’s easy to forget how much is controlled by the market. It’s easy to forget that thing I said earlier. That thing about most people not knowing the difference between what’s good and what’s bad.

 

