15 March 2011

March 15, 2011

I’ve heard that when people get married later in life they bicker. They’ve had their lives a certain way. They’ve kept their mugs upside down in the cupboard.

I remember my dad could fall asleep instantly. We’d be in the living room and he’d be hugging a pillow to his chest. He’d close his eyes and open them and say he’d had a dream. I’d say, No, Not possible. But then he’d describe it and it would be too crazy to be made up, too specific. It was like a magic trick. Then he’d close his eyes again and I’d stare at him, carpet under my knees.

I want things to stay the same forever. It’s a tragedy that things don’t stay the same.

You think: this thing, I could not live without this thing. But you could. You think: this person, I could not live without this person. But you could. You could live without anything, anyone. That’s the scary thing.

Then the person falls asleep next to you and you can’t help but stare at them, like they’re the only permanent thing left in the world.

