28 Feb 2011

February 28, 2011

I’m not sure I have anything to say. Not just right now. Ever. I could be a solipsist but I’m not sure I understand all it encompasses. I think you have to be pretty smart to say anything worthwhile about the world, it’s best to default to self. But I think that by saying true things about ourselves, we inadvertently say true things about the world. And that’s how that works.

Why does it feel so good when my friends’ kids know my name?

I used to want all my conversations to be deep. That’s what I thought being close to someone felt like. Now I want all my conversations to be about nothing at all — about the juice cartons you put over pepper plants to keep out the frost. That’s what being close to someone feels like now. Anyone can talk about theology, but no one talks about pepper plants anymore.

I watched a documentary about Westboro Baptist Church today, and I don’t know what to say about it. It’s easy to hate people, I guess. Mostly it’s just sad.

I figure if I’m not learning to love people more, I’m moving in the wrong direction.

But that has nothing to do with plants.

 

