11 Feb 2011

February 11, 2011

I don’t mind rebellion for rebellion’s sake. What’s the alternative — obedience for obedience’s sake?

I’ve been learning something about art: that you have to fight for it. That no one understands something as well as the person who created it, and people will try to tell you it should be this way or it should be that way. They’ll try to tell you it’s bad; it needs to change. But in the end, they’re not the ones making it.

If you’re going to make stuff for a living, eventually you’ll have to deal with the fact that most people won’t like your work. The world will remain unimpressed.

Learning a craft is learning to cut away everything you don’t need.

“Being an artist is being a person on whom nothing is lost.” I don’t remember who said that, but it’s why I carry a notebook.

Yesterday I was in line at Walmart and the little boy in front of me was playing on the floor. His mother said, “Walter! Get up off-a-dat floor!” And I said, “Yeah, Walter! Off the floor already!” And his mother took this step back and looked at me down the length of her body, she was bending back so far.

At an old job, I used to sit by the copy machine and when the HR Lady would make copies, she would do the SNL copy-guy sketch for herself. She’d say, “Terri, makin’ copies, the Termeister.” So I started doing it for her when she’d come over, which I think is what she wanted in the first place. I think she wanted that part of her life to be exactly like TV.

And I didn’t really say anything to that kid in Walmart. Of course not.

Sometimes you put random things next to each other and it all makes sense. It’s vague, but that’s sort of what’s intriguing about it. That’s the poetry. But sometimes it does nothing, you use too much flour, it won’t all stick together. It’s just clumps of this and clumps of that. But I don’t know, that’s sort of interesting too.

