27 Jan 2011

January 27, 2011

I don’t really feel like writing this today. It’s getting boring. Or maybe it just feels boring today and it will get better tomorrow. I work best in the mornings anyways.

I was talking with a friend today about work. Not anything specific, just the idea of work. He’s a pretty successful guy, maybe the most successful guy I know for his age. He was saying he wasn’t sure he was all that into it anymore, his job. I asked him what he wanted to do instead. He said he didn’t know.

So it goes.

We talked about how long it takes to be good at anything. Years. Decades. If you find out what you want to do at 40, you’ll be 50 before you’re any good at it. Or maybe you’ll pick it up right away. I don’t know.

It still amazes me sometimes that I can afford rent. I don’t have a lot of confidence in my earning potential.

I have $150 on a gift card. I have to buy something with it. There’s nothing I want. There are only so many books I can stack up at my bedside. I’ve been thinking about getting another messenger bag.

Who would want to read this?

 

