26 Jan 2011

January 26, 2011

I was at lunch and the cashier told the woman in front of me that her card wasn’t going through, did she have cash? Another card? And the woman got all upset, started talking about always paying her bills on time, never having a card declined, this and that. The guy just shrugged and said it had been declined. And it was this incredibly personal thing for the woman, like her whole worth at that moment came down to that card going through. I was thinking, get off it lady, just give the man cash. But then my card got declined too.

Most things exhaust me. There is hardly anything better than a quiet night in my apartment with my wife. People expect things.

I used to think being an introvert was a bad thing. Like one day I was supposed to snap out of it.

I once knew this guy who was super charismatic, outgoing. Everyone liked him. He could make people laugh, could plan parties like he wasn’t even trying. One day I was talking to a friend about him, about what a great guy he was, and my friend said, “I actually can’t stand him,” and I said, “Me neither.”

And it’s not that I don’t believe in God. I do. But I tune out the moment someone starts quoting scripture.

If there’s anything I want to understand, it’s not heaven, it’s earth. If there’s anything that interests me, it’s not God, it’s people. Let’s not pretend we’ve been given more than we have.

 

