21 Jan 2011

January 21, 2011

I’m listening to Iron & Wine’s new album right now. I’ve been listening to it a lot. It doesn’t come out for a few days, so I thought about downloading a bootlegged copy but felt bad, even though I own plenty of stolen music. So I’m streaming it. When I press play, an animated bird puts its beak down on a record and the music starts.

I ended up buying a book about story structure even though I said I wasn’t going to. Turns out it’s pretty helpful. The difference between guessing and knowing.

“Saw a highway. Saw an ocean. I saw widows in the temple of the Lord”

I was thinking last night about how I’ve become many things I used to despise, the only difference is that now I don’t despise them.

Awhile ago, I had lunch with a friend and we talked about how much our faith had changed over the years, about how we weren’t even sure it was faith anymore. I said I was thinking about becoming a humanist. He was thinking about becoming an atheist. There are reasons for these things.

Sometimes the sunlight catches the air just right and you can see all the dust floating everywhere. You’re just breathing it in. It’s stuck to the walls of your lungs.

This is where I wrote about a strange conversation I had today, but I decided to delete it. I didn’t want it to be taken the wrong way.

If you put two sentences close enough together, one will interpret the other. Proximity creates meaning.

In a good story something is always at stake. I sort of forgot about that.

