Brand New

September 7, 2009

Today I entered an elite society.  The society of macbook users.  In my defense, this was an almost completely necessary purchase.  It was as close as a want gets to being a need without actually being one; so i jumped the gun a little – sue me.  My last laptop -a compaq- lasted me a solid 3.5 years before it started showing signs of old age.  Freezing every-so-often, taking long and longer to boot or shut down, not being able to keep up with steaming videos and the like.  The real nail in the coffin though was when the screen stopped, what i like to call, “working”.  Blacks became electric greens, at wrong angles the screen would turn off completely, and every so often it would all garble like a TV loosing reception.  Once the novelty of the failing screen wore off, it really started getting annoying. 

And really, what other option was there from the mac book?  None.  And as much as I’d like to abandon technology all together and go back to the typewriter and quill days, it really just doesn’t look like that’s gonna happen. 

 

So here I am at my same desk, wearing my same clothes, with my same hair cut, in my same apartment, realizing that everything is different now.

 


4 Responses to “Brand New”

  1. Steve H Says:

    you prideful, arrogant, stuck up, anti pc, conceited, haughty, vain,egotistical,”thinking different”, riding a high horse thinking your turds don’t stink mac user.

    Welcome to the club buddy! You won’t regret it! Everything is different indeed. Different indeed.

  2. Brett Says:

    Welcome pal. You’ll never go back.

  3. Joel Says:

    @Steve: Yes, now he “thinks different” . . . like everyone else. ;-p

    @Mike: Dude, what kind of “steaming videos” are you watching and does your bride know?

    Seriously, it sounds to me like you’ve made the right move; where can one go but up from a Compaq? And while I am not nearly cool enough to be a Mac user, I can’t harass you arrogant bastards too much now that I’m drinking the iPhone Kool-Aid. Yeah, I’m drinking the Kool-Aid, but AT&T is still holding out on those tasty M&Ms.

  4. Gabriel Says:

    Does it run Linux?


Leave a Reply

