The Whole Cup of Coffee

September 2, 2009

I flipped my calendar page today and ended summer. 

September is the first step in the much needed cooling process that our state so reluctantly undergoes.  Jacket-wearers can dawn their coats in the slightly-too-warm weather, as short-pants-wearers attempt to absorb the last bits of heat through their exposed skin.  It’s a really great time, September.  A hopeful month if there ever was one.  I don’t think there is a single person in Texas that doesn’t start anticipating winter around, oh…July. And September whets our burgeoning hope for winter’s return.

I’ve heard it said that Texas doesn’t have seasons.  I think this rumor must have been started by a group of northeasterners, or someone from Oregon, who wanted to make us feel like we’re missing out on something.  People like to have exclusive experiences, they like it when other people “don’t even know” about things like seasons or mountains or good music.  Texas doesn’t have mountains, but we definitely have seasons.  I know this because there is a pea-coat in my closet.  Next time someone starts complaining about how we don’t have seasons I’m going to push them into my closet and say, “oh ya? explain this!”  I bet that will make them feel pretty silly for thinking we don’t have seasons.

I’ve never lived anywhere that gets much snow, so naturally I’m fascinated by it.  The 4 to 5 days that Texas gets snow are absolute magic, every time.  I know some people who live in “snowy places”, and they talk about snow like it’s a bad thing- like traffic or ozone days.  It’s nothing original to say that the best things are experienced in moderation.  I could learn a thing or two about disappointment, a thing or two about delayed gratification, a thing or two about failure.  It’s all worth it when it finally snows.

I think tomorrow, I’ll drink a whole cup of coffee on our balcony at work, to celebrate the coming of the much needed winter.

3 Responses to “The Whole Cup of Coffee”

  1. Brett Says:

    This post now has me officially excited about winter. Also, I need a pea coat.

  2. Joel Says:

    Mike, Texas has seasons; they’re just bland and lame and all too hot. The whole moderation thing is way overrated, IMO . . . well, except when it comes to heat, I guess. I lived where it snowed, loved it then and miss it now. I might complain about people who live where it snows and complain, but I live where it’s hot and, well, you get the picture.

    Oh, and I want a pea coat too. I do have a lovely coat that I bought cheap at Old Navy that sort of has a pea coat feel to it. And it is kind of pea-greenish. I love wearing it, the two or three days it actually gets cool around here.

  3. Gabriel Says:

    What’s a pea coat?


Leave a Reply

