Pilgrim

April 25, 2008

I’m finally finishing a book I started about a year ago Pilgrim at Tinker Creek. It’s incredibly boring and incredibly beautiful.  I had this book with me while I traveled last summer and spent many a morning turning its pages.  The book reads like a long letter, intricately describing the years the author spent exploring tinker creek.

            I’m gaining a new appreciation for boring things.  I listen to boring acoustic music in my car nowadays and enjoy boring books.  I drive a bit slower than I used to too.  I think I’m scared life is going to fly by. One day I’m going to wake up and be 30, then 40.  And I’m fine with that as long as I can remember how I got there.  I want to be like Emily Dickinson and roll the months into balls and keep them in a drawer.  I want to be like Henry Thoreau and suck the marrow from life.  I don’t mind getting old, I just want to be awake for the ride.

3 Responses to “Pilgrim”

  1. janessica Says:

    When you say “finishing,” are you saying that you’re starting in the middle and thinking about reading to the end? Because with that book, I don’t think you should commit to a phrase as strong as “finishing” until you’re on the last page, and even then that might be a bit courageous. Don’t get me wrong – it’s a good one, but I’m just saying you are one bold fellow.

  2. Brett Says:

    God Mike, you are a freakin good writer bro.

  3. Josh Says:

    love your thoughts mike! one question though, is it your love for boring things, or sentimentality that eases your foot off of the gas pedal??


Leave a Reply

