“I’ll Take the Usual”

April 9, 2008

I drive to a coffee shop on the road that runs perpendicular to my college; it’s a bit out of the way but entirely worth it.  I have a “usual”, which is pretty exciting.  It’s easy to get a usual when it’s always a large bold coffee; easy to remember I guess.  Sometimes it’s waiting for me when I get to the counter, and they don’t even announce my total anymore.  The dangerous thing about “Usuals” is that there’s not a lot of room to move around.  Say one morning I’m feeling adventurous and want a large House coffee or, even more crazy, a latte.  Well forget having a usual now! Who knows what this guy is going to order next time he comes in!  That could take months to repair, so I stick with the large bold and save myself the trouble.

4 Responses to ““I’ll Take the Usual””

  1. sph Says:

    As a former barista….this made me smile. Baristas sometimes take a sense of pride in having your drink ready before you walk in the door. But if the customer decides to mix it up one morning…its a little awkward because they say “oh, no that’s ok, I’ll take the one you already made”. 🙂 Good times.

  2. janessica Says:

    Delightful. It almost makes me want to like coffee. Almost, but not quite.

  3. Brett Says:

    this does sound like quite the dilemma. Haha

  4. Josh Says:

    You should walk in naked one morning mike..they probably wouldn’t even notice you’re drinking the same ol’!! That way, they wouldn’t experience any awkwardness about you switching up your order on them, and you would receive the satisfaction of expressing your unusually creative sense of style!!

    Everyone goes on happy that morning.


Leave a Reply

