Gilead

February 28, 2008

Its funny what books can do to a person.  I often get so caught up reading for knowledge that I forget the calmness of reading for pleasure; it’s quite soothing really.  I’ve been trying to spend one night a week in a coffee shop reading.  I normally start by reading a bit of the paper so when people say stuff like, “how ’bout that fidel castro situation” I can say something intellegent like, “I know, right?”.  But I try to spend most of the evening reading something with no real purpose.  Right now I’m reading a really wonderful book called, “Gilead”.  For anyone looking for one of those “soul calming” books, I really recommend this one.  I often have to put it down for a moment to really absorb the subtle beauty in it.  Here’s a bit of it:

   

“I really can’t tell what’s beautiful anymore.  I passed two young fellows on the street the other day.  I know who they are, they work at the garage.  They’re not churchgoing, either one of them, just decent rascally young fellows who have to be joking all the time, and there they were, propped against the garage wall in the sunshine, lighting up their cigarettes.  They’re always so black with grease and so strong with gasoline I don’t know why they don’t catch fire themselves.  They were passing remarks back and forth the way they do and laughing that wicked way they have.  And it seemed beautiful to me.  It is an amazing thing to watch people laugh, the way it sort of takes them over.  Sometime they really do struggle with it.  I see that in church often enough.  So I wonder what it is and where it comes from, and I wonder what it expends out of your system, so that you have to do it till you done, like crying in a way, I suppose, except laughter is much more easily spent.”                         -Gilead

2 Responses to “Gilead”

  1. Gabriel Says:

    That’s pretty cool… thanks for sharing it. Who is the author?


  2. This sounds amazing Mike. Great quote.

    I like your little quip about reading the paper. I find myself dutifully going to bbc.com to catch up on the world. I don’t really like it, I just feel I need to. weird and funny.

    Cheers


Leave a Reply

